Bite of Big Apple

Pei Yee 1906

Ahhh… New York, New York! The food scene here is just as varied as the New Yorker.

Momofuku Noodle Bar

” A must try!”

The famous pork bun

Anyone who has been following Masterchef Australia 2011 would probably know who David Chang is. Yes, he’s the owner of the Momofuku flagship. I’ve been only to the Momofuku Noodle Bar to try the famous ‘pork bun’. We were meant to eat there but at 9pm, the queue was still long. As I insisted  pleaded that I HAVE to try this dish, we decided to take away. I was so hungry that I ended up golloping down the bun while waiting for the car. Maybe I was too famished (everything tastes good!), I find the tender pork belly and the sweet sour of the hoisin sauce and the pickled cucumber goes really well. The take away noodles  were just average.

This restaurant is also famous for its fried chicken which has to be ordered in advance! Wish I was there longer to try his other restaurants. This will give another excuse to go back! New York awaits me…

http://www.momofuku.com

Momofuku Noodle Bar on Urbanspoon

Bouchon Bakery

” If you can’t go to the French Laundry, Bouchon Bakery is a consolation-almost…”

Grilled gruyere cheese sandwich with tomato soup

I really wanted to go to The French Laundry (one of the top restaurants in the  world) but the waiting list was 4 months (can’t you believe it?! I better book  that first before booking my air ticket next time!). So, Bouchon Bakery is  some sort of a consolation for me. If it’s by Thomas Keller, it has to be good,non?

I’ve got to admit, I went there-twice! I first went for a sit-down lunch and second  a take away from the bakery. Situated inside the Time Warner building,I love the idea of lunch overlooking the city through the window glass.With New Yorker around me having a quick lunch,I felt like I’m the only tourist around(trying to look like a New Yorker but my map betrayed me!).I love their macaroons. They are massive! And, very delicious! A bit pricey for a bakery,but hey, as long as they are good, I’m willing to pay!

Bouchon Bakery on Urbanspoon

Rice to Riches

” No skinny bitches!”

Different flavours of rice pudding

Even if you are not a fan of rice pudding, I would recommend you to step into this store. I’ve never been to such a creative store before with witty slogans and boards all over the store.It even comes with its own merchandise! You can order online too!

The rice pudding is not your average comfort food. Rice to Riches rice pudding are intense in flavours and comes in 18 flavours. It also comes with reusable plastic oval-shaped reusable container. We brought it back for souvenir!

Rice To Riches on Urbanspoon

Cafe Habana

“Bring dental floss!”

Grilled Mexican Corn on the Cob

If it wasn’t for my New Yorker connections, I would have not  found this place. Very popular among the locals,be sure to wait!  We kinda attracted an attention of a model (Nolita is quite a trendy area) while waiting and  she even snapped our pics into her BB (but I would NEVER  reveal what we did!)

This favourite hang out place serves simple,unpretentious Cuban dishes.But, most people go for the amazing grilled Mexican corn on the cob. It comes buttered with cheese and sprinkled paprika and served with lime. It is so flavoursome that you just want more and more!

It’s always tricky to eat corn on the cob ( please take that into consideration if you are on a date!). So,tips: Please bring your floss (it’s worth it!!

Cafe Habana on Urbanspoon

Keens Steakhouse

” A classic steakhouse gem.”

Prime fillet mignon 8 oz

Another suggestion by New Yorker, we went to a New York classic establishment. Not only famous for its mutton lamb chop,it also hold the largest collection of churchwardens pipes in the world. You can the pipes decorated all over the 3 storey high restaurants. The restaurant has an old school masculine feel with it. Just imagine brown oak,wooden chairs and formal waiters.

The steak was excellent and cooked to perfection. The steak comes on its own with no sides. We ordered grilled vegetables as side. I would to try its legendary mutton chop which has nothing to do with goat! It’s actually a lamb chop! Go figure that one out!

Keens Steakhouse on Urbanspoon

Veniero’s Pasticceria and Cafe

” Be spoilt for selection!”

Tiramisu

When you wait for seats in this busy and bustling cafe,your eyes can’t help but to perv gaze on the counter full of sweet delights such as cheesecakes, cannoli, tiramisu, biscotti, fruit tarts, strawberry shortcake, Black Forest cake, Red Velvet cake, and pastries galore. The selection is huge and fresh.

We settled for tiramisu and home-made gelato. Would have love to try its famous pignoli cookies and signature New York cheesecake.

Veniero's Pasticceria & Caffe' on Urbanspoon

Opsssss…

Pastrami sandwich

I apologize in advance. I totally forgotten where I had this pastrami sandwich from! But, I thought it’s such a New Yorker classic that the dish itself deserves a mention. Pastrami sandwich is a traditional Romanian Jews dish made from corned beef and usually served with pickled cucumber.

For the most famous pastrami sandwich,check out Katz Pattiserrie. It’s a shame I didn’t do my research well enough but that means another visit soon!

http://katzsdelicatessen.com/

IF YOU’VE MISSED THE VIDEO, DON’T WORRY HERE’S THE LINK:

I ♥ NY Food Video – My love letter to City of Dreams

Comments
2 Responses to “Bite of Big Apple”
  1. kat says:

    YUMMM! Have you tried the GInger Scallion sauce at Momofuku? I saw a pic of the ginger scallion noodles and I am in love lol :)

    • foodloca says:

      Yes! I did. In fact, we’ve ordered all of the ramen to try. It’s almost a year ago since I was in NY but I remember gobbling down the food ‘cos we were sooo hungry! I guess everything taste even better when you are famished. If you go,try the famous bun.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

