Not so shady deals at Auction Rooms


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Have I mentioned I LOVE brunch? (perhaps the 100th times!) . There’s nothing better to spend a lazy Sunday than a brunch to start the day.That’s why I’m so excited to share with you one of the best places for brunch in Melbourne. I’m so glad I was brought to this place.

As the name would suggest, it used to be an auction room. The old brick building with weathered baby blue paint added a rustic feel to it. Once you enter, you’ll be amazed by the spacious room and it even come with a backyard court! I took in the room with its high ceiling with tubular lighting resembling  giant wind chimes ( at least to me!), wooden bar counter and bright yellow chrysanthemum flowers on each table as I enter. The place looks promising already from what I can see! It was a sunny day with sunshine streaming through and there’s already a  beeline of people queueing up for a taste of the famous shady deal. I can’t believe our luck as we were ushered to an empty seat for two when there’s line of people queueing up for bigger table! This is a beginning of a good day..

My imagination of giant windchimes!

Creative decor with tree ornamented with glass vase of yellow chrysanthemum 

Looking through the menu, I was tossing in between ‘Opening Bids‘ or THE shady deal.

The interesting menu

Feeling a bit adventurous ,I went for the shady deal,of course ( you wouldn’t have expected anything less than that from me,would you?). Let me tell you.. the shady deal is not that shady after all with moroccan tomato and chorizo stew, with eggplant,olives,poached eggs,dukkah and meredith goat’s feta,served with grilled flat bread.

The Shady Deal – Moroccan tomato & chorizo stew,with eggplant,olives,poached eggs,dukkah and meredith goat’s feta,served with grilled flat bread

I had a similar dish from Hardware Societe but I reckon this is better! This Mediterranean inspired dish looked so appetizing with bright red stew of tomato with chunky eggplants and chorizo, white poached eggs topped with bright yellow dukkah,dollop of white goat cheese and a touch of fresh green flat leaf parsley thrown on the top with slightly black char grilled end of the flat bread. I’ve mentioned many times how the look of a dish really whet my appetite and this is the perfect example! As usual, the first test- poached egg. Once I ducked my spoon into the firm poached egg,yellow yolk oozed out. Passed!! Although simple, a perfect poached eggs require a lot of skill. Eat it the way you like it. Dip in the bread into the stew.. drink the stew..enjoy the balance of flavours of smokiness of the chorizo,saltiness of the olive and goat cheese. Yuummm… I need to go back again!For coffee lovers, this is also a great spot ( from other reviews..I can’t drink coffee unfortunately..Tell me ’bout it!)

The waitress fit right in the background

It’s always the little details that bind everything together. Even though the waitress don’t wear the usual black uniform , I noticed a uniformity of individualistic style of retro and hip ‘uniform’ reminiscence the period when the auction room is in business. They were friendly and order was quick. Love the little touch of bright yellow chrysanthemum on each table  and with antique Heinz can containing sugar. Coupled with great food and service, I’ll be willing to take the ‘risk’ of waiting for a table to place my highest bid for a not-so-shady deal!

Auction Rooms

http://www.auctionroomscafe.com.au/

107 Errol St
North Melbourne, VIC 3051

03 9326 7749

Hours          M   T   W   T   F   S    S
Breakfast    ✓   ✓   ✓   ✓   ✓  ✓   ✓
Lunch         ✓   ✓   ✓   ✓   ✓  ✓   ✓
Dinner                          ✓   ✓  ✓

Open: Mon -Sun

Mon- Wed: 7am – 5pm

Thur-Fri  : 7am – 10pm

Sat: 7.30am – 10pm

Sun:7.30am – 5pm

Price: $ (under $15)

Cuisine: Modern Australian, Coffee, Breakfast/Brunch

Description: Cafe & Coffee Roastery

Ambience: 9.0

Service: 8.5

Food: 9.0

Value:  8.5

My Rating: 8.75

Auction Rooms on Urbanspoon

Enjoy your coffee? Join and meet other coffee lovers at FoodSocial Coffee In Melbourne. The social way to appreciate coffee..
YOU are invited!

If you like this,you might like this too!

Hardware Societe

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Not so shady deals at Auction Rooms”
  1. Cilla says:

    Perhaps a meetup should be arranged for brunch, no? Lots of good places in Melbourne.
    I’ve been to Auction rooms a few times, it is awesome.

Leave a Reply

